i. It’s Like My Mother’s Baking

This is the standard from

which I base my taste

for baked goods

I can tell when

it’s not her best

I can tell when she tries

something new

 

It’s my mother’s

artform

I can tell

I can’t tell

When it’s

not my best

When I try

something new

 

My friends

My family

And all others

who have tasted

her art find it

to be really good,

and even ask for her art

personally

 

I knew they

would never

come for me

Take me

away

 

Because the

best form

of rebellion

is self-destruction.

Leave a Reply

